Thursday, August 19, 2010

Three first time major winners again in 2010

For the second consecutive year, there were three first time major winners. With so many good young players coming up, this may become a trend unless Tiger can get things together again.

In 2009, Angel Cabrera won his second career major at the Masters. After that there were all first timers with Lucas Glover taking the U.S. Open, Stewart Cink taking the British, and Y.E. Yang winning the PGA.

In 2010, Phil Mickelson won his fourth overall major at the Masters. From there, more first timers with Graeme McDowell winning the U.S. Open, Louis Oosthuizen taking the British, and Martin Kaymer winning the PGA.

Mickelson (Getty / Graythen)

McDowell (Getty / Lyons)

Oosthuizen (Getty / Greenwood)

Kaymer (Getty / Franklin)

Early Vegas Odds for 2011 Masters

Tiger Woods 5 - 1
Phil Mickelson 7 - 1
Rory McIlroy 12 - 1
Lee Westwood 20 - 1
Dustin Johnson 25 -1
Anthony Kim 25 - 1
Padraig Harrington 25 - 1