Monday, February 21, 2011

Accenture World Match Play previous winners

Ian Poulter is the defending champion at the Accenture Match Play.

2010: Ian Poulter over Paul Casey
2009: Geoff Ogilvy over Paul Casey
2008: Tiger Woods over Stewart Cink
2007: Henrik Stenson over Geoff Ogilvy
2006: Geoff Ogilvy over Davis Love III
2005: David Toms over Chris Dimarco
2004: Tiger Woods over Davis Love III
2003: Tiger Woods over David Toms
2002: Kevin Sutherland over Scott McCarron
2001: Steve Stricker over Pierre Fulke
2000: Darren Clarke over Tiger Woods
1999: Jeff Maggert over Andrew Magee

Based on the history of the tournament, Woods, Casey, and Ogilvy are top choices to do well this week. However, this also shows that anyone can get hot and advance as evidenced by Kevin Sutherland winning in 2002 and Pierre Fulke making the finals in 2001. Almost every match is a pick-em as anyone can beat anyone on any given day.