Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Past U.S. Open Winners

 Bobby Jones is one of only four players with four U.S. Open victories.

The U.S. Open has been played since 1895. Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones, and Willie Anderson hold the most titles with four victories each. Tiger Woods has won three. The tournament has widely been dominated by Americans until recently, which has seen winners from Ireland (McDowell), Argentina (Cabrera), Australia (Ogilvy), New Zealand (Campbell), and South Africa (Goosen). Whose name will be added in 2011 to this list of past champions?

2010: Graeme McDowell (Pebble Beach)
2009: Lucas Glover (Bethpage)
2008: Tiger Woods (Torrey Pines)
2007: Angel Cabrera (Oakmont)
2006: Geoff Ogilvy (Winged Foot)
2005: Michael Campbell (Pinehurst)
2004: Retief Goosen (Shinnecock Hills)
2003: Jim Furyk (Olympia Fields)
2002: Tiger Woods (Bethpage)
2001: Retief Goosen (Southern Hills)
2000: Tiger Woods (Pebble Beach)