Monday, July 11, 2011

British Open Past Winners

This British Open was first played in 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. The third of four annual major championships, and the only one played outside of American soil, the Open Championship has seen many great champions in tournament history.

Most recently, South African Louis Oosthuiven played nearly flawless golf over four days at St. Andrews to win his first major championship. The last to win at Royal St. Georges, the site of this year's Championship, was American Ben Curtis, who came out of nowhere to claim victory.

Recent Champions:

2010: Louis Oosthuiven, St. Andrews
2009: Stewart Cink, Turnberry
2008: Padraig Harrington, Royal Birkdale
2007: Padraig Harrington, Carnoustie
2006: Tiger Woods, Hoylake
2005: Tiger Woods, St. Andrews
2004: Todd Hamilton, Royal Troon
2003: Ben Curtis, Royal St. Georges
2002: Ernie Els, Muirfield
2001: David Duval, Royal Lytham and St. Annes
2000: Tiger Woods, St. Andrews