Sunday, February 19, 2012

Accenture World Match Play begins Wednesday

World number one Luke Donald is looking to go back to back at the World Match Play.
The Accenture World Match Play kicks off Wednesday with the top 64 available players in the world rankings vying to win six consecutive matches in the single elimination format.

The event began in 1999 and is now played at the Jack Nicklaus designed Ritz Carlton Golf Club at Dove Mountain in Arizona.

World number one Luke Donald is the defending champion and will look to become the first back to back winner since Tiger Woods did it in 2003 and 2004.

Past winners of the event are:

2011: Luke Donald
2010: Ian Poulter
2009: Geoff Ogilvy
2008: Tiger Woods
2007: Henrik Stenson
2006: Geoff Ogilvy
2005: David Toms
2004: Tiger Woods
2003: Tiger Woods
2002: Kevin Sutherland
2001: Steve Stricker
2000: Darren Clarke
1999: Jeff Maggert