Sunday, June 9, 2013

Past U.S. Open Champions

 Bobby Jones is one of only four players with four U.S. Open victories.

The U.S. Open has been played since 1895. Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones, and Willie Anderson hold the most titles with four victories each. Tiger Woods has won three. The tournament has widely been dominated by Americans until recently, which has seen winners from England (Rose), Ireland (McILroy and McDowell), Argentina (Cabrera), Australia (Ogilvy), New Zealand (Campbell), and South Africa (Goosen).

 List of past champions

2013: Justin Rose (Merion)
2012: Webb Simpson (Olympic Club)
2011: Rory McILroy (Congressional)
2010: Graeme McDowell (Pebble Beach)
2009: Lucas Glover (Bethpage)
2008: Tiger Woods (Torrey Pines)
2007: Angel Cabrera (Oakmont)
2006: Geoff Ogilvy (Winged Foot)
2005: Michael Campbell (Pinehurst)
2004: Retief Goosen (Shinnecock Hills)
2003: Jim Furyk (Olympia Fields)
2002: Tiger Woods (Bethpage)
2001: Retief Goosen (Southern Hills)
2000: Tiger Woods (Pebble Beach)