Monday, April 4, 2011

Masters History and Traditions

The Masters began in 1934 at Augusta National, designed by Bobby Jones and Alister Mackenzie. It is scheduled for the beginning of April and is the only major played at the same course year after year.

A green jacket is awarded to the winner, a tradition which began in 1949. The champions dinner, held each Tuesday of tournament week, was started by Ben Hogan and is only open to former champions and certain board members.

On each Wednesday, there is a par-3 tournament at a par-3 course at Augusta with many of the player's kids caddying for them.

Each tournament begins with an honorary tee shot, performed in the past by golf legends Nicklaus, Palmer, Snead, and Sarazen, among others.

The winner of the Masters receives a lifetime exemption into the tournament, plus a five year exemption on the PGA Tour, as well as a five year exemption into the U.S. Open, British Open, PGA Championship, and the Player's Championship.

Jack Nicklaus has won the most green jackets with six while Arnold Palmer and Tiger Wood have four wins each. Phil Mickelson is the defending champion and has won three times.

All past champions