Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Masters History and Traditions

Adam Scott of Australia with the Green Jacket after winning the Masters at the Augusta National Golf Club on April 14, 2013 in Augusta, Georgia. (Photo by Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)
The Masters began in 1934 at Augusta National, designed by Bobby Jones and Alistair Mackenzie. The tournament is scheduled for the beginning of April and is the only major played at the same course every year.

A green jacket is awarded to the winner, a tradition which began in 1949. The champions dinner, held each Tuesday of tournament week, was started by Ben Hogan and is only open to former champions and certain board members.

On each Wednesday, there is a par-3 tournament at a par-3 course at Augusta with many of the player's kids caddying for them.

Each tournament begins with an honorary tee shot, performed in the past by golf legends Nicklaus, Palmer, Snead, and Sarazen, among others.

The winner of the Masters receives a lifetime exemption into the tournament, plus a five year exemption on the PGA Tour, as well as a five year exemption into the U.S. Open, British Open, PGA Championship, and the Player's Championship.

Jack Nicklaus has won the most green jackets with six while Arnold Palmer and Tiger Wood have four wins each. Phil Mickelson most recently won in 2010 and has three. The defending champion is Adam Scott, who won in a playoff over Angel Cabrera and became the first Australian to win the Masters.